NaNoWriMo & 2015

If you noticed this blog has been a bit of a ghost town in the month of November. I sort of have a good excuse because I competed in National Novel Writing Month. NaNoWriMo for short. I use the word compete because it was more of an exercise for me to see exactly how much I could write in one month. The goal for this is 50,000 words which is pretty insane especially for me. You have to keep on track with over 1,600 words a day for 30 days. I do good to write 800 words in a day and that’s not an everyday occurrence.

It didn’t help that I decided to participate the day before this thing actually started. I did have the advantage of knowing what the story was I wanted to write as it’s been in my head for a long time now. To many people’s surprise, it is not a horror story but more of a comedy/drama about trying to find out how to be happy in this crazy world. I describe it as my version of City Slickers, you know that old Billy Crystal movie. It’s been on my mind for a few years so that is the story I tackled, so how far did I get?

Well, I’m glad you asked. I finished the month with a little over 32,000 words which is a personal record for me. Now, just because I wrote that many words in a month doesn’t mean its completed. Actually, far from it. The story will probably clock in at about 55,000 words when it’s completed. That will be the longest story I have written as Fat Trapped is a little over 44,000 words.

I feel a bit burned out from a crazy month of writing but am going to continue on with this story. I would like to be able to release it next year in the summer time but time will only tell if that actually gets done because there is a lot to do between now and then. You all have heard me talk about my Blankenship Christmas/prequel story (which is about half the size of Fat Trapped at 20,000 words) over the past few months & my goal is for it to be released in November of 2015. I know its a long way away but the story is completed and need to go through the editing process a few times and then it should be ready for your eyes to read. Those two stories are my goal for releasing next year along with one or two short stories.

2014 has been a great writing year for me. And big things are coming for 2015 if you like my work. I hope you all have enjoyed the characters I have created. They are all like family to me which makes it all that more fun for me to write.

I am starting a new adventure in 2015 in my personal life so as of now I am not sure how that will affect my writing but like always I will push though as much as possible. I will try to write for this blog more as well for 2015 but don’t forget the other two sites I write for on a regular basis. For all your nerdy needs checkout Needless Things and for all the movie reviews you could hope for, go to Cinephiliacs.

-R.T.

Leave a Reply

