John Dies At The End Movie Review

If there was one word I could describe the movie John Dies At The End with, it would be Frustrated. Before watching this movie I had heard mixed reviews, some people say it was great and some people hated it. I like to make my own judgement about stuff especially since the premise sounded original. Also, it just so happens that it was recently added to Netflix. It also didn’t hurt that it was a rainy Sunday morning which made it that much easier to sit around to watch.

Let me at least tell you what the IMDB description is so that you have an idea of what the movie is about.

A new street drug that sends its users across time and dimensions has one drawback: some people return as no longer human. Can two college dropouts save humankind from this silent, otherworldly invasion?

Does that help? I thought not because even after watching this movie that description doesn’t help me figure out what it was about. This movie is based on the book based on the same name. I could not even imagine reading this book if its half as confusing as the movie. It makes me sad to say that I did not like this movie because it had so many things going for it.

Chase Williamson & Rob Mayes were terrific portraying best friends because they had great chemistry when on screen together.

Don Coscarelli directed this movie as well as movies such as Bubba Ho-tep & Phantasm. Honestly, he did a perfect job directing with some great camera shots & some very unique special effects. That being said, he also wrote the movie which was where I had the biggest problem. Still after watching it, I had no idea what was going on at any point of the movie. The disappointing thing is that its the only real problem with the movie. If it was so damn confusing I think it would have been a great one but in the end the result was a film that I don’t think anyone could follow.

My IMDB rating is a 3 out of 10. I recommend not to watch this movie if you want something that makes sense. But if you want something that is definitely different and something that you wont understand any of after you watch it, then this is the movie for you!

My final thought is that in the end I think this could have been a much better TV show, this is my same opinion of Cabin In The Woods. I am not comparing the movies because I thought Cabin In The Woods is a fun movie that deserves to be watched. As a TV show, I think John Dies At The End could have been broken down in sections and not mashed together to make a mess of a movie.

Leave a Reply

