Why I Loved Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters

I won’t go over the story, if you want to know that I’m sure you can find the synopsis somewhere on the web. This blog is gonna be more about why I loved the movie not so much the story.

There are a few reasons why I love the movie Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters.

One reason was that going into the movie for some reason I thought it was PG-13. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of blood/gore and glimpse of boob that it was indeed rated R.

Another reason I loved it was that it was written & directed by Tommy Wirkola. I know, I know, Hey Rich, just who in the hell is Tommy Wirkola.

I’m so glad you asked!

Tommy Wirkola just happens to be the writer & director of one of my all time favorite horror movies. That movie would be Dead Snow from 2009, now if you are my friend and have been to the past two halloween parties I have thrown, well then you have probably seen it. If not I have two words for you: Nazi Zombies! Now, I would like to say that I saw this movie well before I was totally burned out of the whole zombie craze. Also I would like to say I love watching the dubbed version movie instead of the subtitled movie which most people prefer.

Now if you loved Dead Snow then you must see Hansel & Gretel, there are a ton of Easter Eggs to look for. Actors and even deaths can be compared from each movie and it just makes it that much more fun if you are a fan of Dead Snow. (I won’t ruin the surprises, you will have to find them yourself)

Another reason I loved the movie was the performance by Derek Mears for his portrayal of Edward, a big ole nasty lovable troll. Now you may not recognize Mr. Mears at first because he is completely computer generated but his actions are definitely there. Derek Mears is best known for his role of Jason in the reboot of Friday the 13th but is really showing he is so much more than a man behind a mask. His performance in the television show Holliston proves that! I am also looking forward to his role in the upcoming Hatchet 3 which hopefully will be out this summer from what I am hearing.

Finally my reason for loving Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters is that its just a crazy fun movie! Action, Gore, Humor, and some wicked looking witches. Some may have complaints but you won’t hear any from me! I for one can’t wait to pick it up on Blu Ray when it comes out.

On a side note, since Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters was so successful, it was just announced that the long rumored Dead Snow 2: War Of The Dead is going to go into production this summer! Now sequels always make me nervous but I have faith that Mr. Wirkola will not disappoint his fans!

-Rich-

Leave a Reply

