How Do You Know If Something Is Bad?

That is the question today, so think about it, how do you know if something is bad?

Go ahead take your time, I’ll wait….

Okay, so here is my opinion about it. Unlike sports, which have records that can pretty much determine if something is bad, entertainment is much harder to decide. Even if its written poorly, acted poorly, drawn poorly, or sung poorly there is someone out there that likes it. You could make the argument that some people like bad things but I there is still someone out there that appreciates it for what it is.

Today, I watched Alex Cross, a movie that did terrible at the box office and fans & critics alike hated. Guess what, I enjoyed the hell out of it. Sure, I can see why some people wouldn’t like it but It doesn’t affect me what other people think about the movie.

Another example, The Lord Of The Rings trilogy is one of the most successful movie franchises of all time, I enjoyed the first one, hated the second one, and never even saw the third. Does that mean the movies were bad, hell no, it just means I didn’t enjoy them.

Oh and speaking of Lord Of The Rings, I have tried on three separate occasions to read it and every time I get about fifty pages in and can’t read another page because It’s confusing and boring to me. I don’t blame other people for liking it, I can see the enjoyment but It confuses the hell out of me and I can’t follow it. Does that mean it was written bad? No, it means I just didn’t like it.

Because whether you want to believe it or not, Bad in the entertainment field is an opinion. Something could be done the wrong way but if people grab a hold of it, does it mean it was bad in the first place. Because something bad couldn’t be liked by anyone, could it?

I’m going to use the Twilight movies as another example. I for one mildly enjoy the series, but I understand that the series is not really my kind of thing either. But people call those movies bad all the time, but if they were bad, why are they so popular?

Now let’s talk Stephen King. Out of all the books he has written I have tried to read about 10 of them. Guess how many I liked and actually finished. 2. Thats it, 2 books out of all of them I enjoyed. Does that mean he is a terrible author? No, it means I don’t like the way it takes him 5 pages to describe what a freaking tree looks like.

This is going to be a very unpopular statement but in my opinion there is no wrong way to act, write, sing, or draw. Someone out there will appreciate what you do and there in fact how can it be bad?

Just something to think about and remember thats just my opinion:)

Leave a Reply

