How Good Was Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes?

 

So with all the comic book movies plus Transformers 3 coming out this year you would have thought I would of been excited for a movie this year.  Sadly I have not been super impressed by anything, I mean I loved Transformers 3 and Captain America but didnt come out of them pumped or anything like that.  So when I first saw the trailer for Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes I was amazed at the technology that was used for the apes in this one.  Gone are the days where the humans are put in monkey costumes and now are days where technology comes in and puts the costumes on highly trained “digital actors”.  The results are spectacular and not one time did the effects take away from the amazing story that was told on screen.

The story is of Will raising Ceasar for the first five years of his life.  Things go a little wrong and Ceasar gets taken away from his human owner.  The interaction between Will and Ceasar is terrific with a great acting job by James Franco and John Lithgow as his father.  Andy Serkis simply does amazing things with his facial features on screen.  Ceasar deserves an Oscar for the amount of emotion and depth that the character had.  This movie blew me away with some of the best story telling, acting, and special effects I have seen since Jurrasic Park.

This is my pick for best the best movie of the year so far but that may change depending on what else comes out this year.  Do your self a favor and go see this movie, it really is a fantastic movie and proved to be a beast at the box office on opening weekend.  Over 50 million which is way better than expected.  I hope the sequel comes out soon and picks up not to far from where part one ended.

That’s all  I got for now so until next time…….Take your stinking paws off me, you damn dirty ape!!

Leave a Reply

