Bar None

So its been kind of a Saturday night ritual that me and some friends go to a local bar.  It’s a nice little bar.  A typical bar in Tennessee with usually a local band playing live.  Or even worse karaoke, which isn’t alway bad but lets just put it this way, I’ve had my fair share of drunken karaoke singing in my day and its never pretty.  I am not much of a drinker at this point in my life although I do like the occasional drink and with friends I love the social drinking aspect of it.

This past Saturday we went to this same bar and two guys were playing some good ole fashioned country music.  Now country music isn’t really my thing but I do like the occasional twang of a guitar.  They were very talented and I give no disrespect to the musicians but about an hour into it the fast paced country songs took a turn for the worse.

Slow, Depressing, Sad, Slow, Depressing, Sad, Slow, Depressing……I felt like I was at a gathering where everybody felt sorry for themselves and had a broken heart.  This was  a bar on Saturday night at 10:00pm by 11:00 the bar had emptied except for a few people who just wanted to drink.

I know this isn’t the only bar that does this in America and I just don’t get it.  Okay so every now and then throw in “Wonderful Tonight” by Eric Clapton so new and old couples alike can feel like they are at a high school dance.  But come on sad heart breaking music is not what should be at a bar.  Give me drinking songs that make me forget about my problems, that is a bar’s job.

Hope everyone had a great weekend and has an even better week!

That’s all  I got for now so until next time………. Have fun in life!

Richard

Leave a Reply

